2007 Miss America pageant tonight



Live from the Aladdin Resort & Casino in Las Vegas
(OK, the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino)
the one at 3667 Las Vegas Boulevard South


2007 Miss America pageant
on Country Music Television (CMT)
airs live at 8 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. Central
tape-delayed to air at 8 p.m. Pacific, 9 p.m. Mountain

host: Mario Lopez (will not sing BP's "There She Is, Miss America")

RESULTS

- - -

1921 first Miss America competition

1935 "Talent" is added

1940-2004 Boardwalk Convention Center in Atlantic City

1945 Bess Myerson the first college graduate to serve as Miss America

1954 first nationally televised Miss America telecast

1955 Bert Parks begins his 25-year tenure as Master of Ceremonies

1966 Miss America broadcast for the first time in color

1994 Heather Whitestone (profoundly deaf) the first woman with a disability to become Miss America

1995 the Miss America Organization becomes the world's largest provider of scholarships for young women

2005 CMT and the Miss America Organization reach a multi-year deal for the right to telecast the Pageant

2006 the Pageant moves out of Atlantic City to Las Vegas