Live Coverage of Michael Jackson Memorial in LA

Michael Jackson Public Memorial Service
Date: Tuesday, July 7, 2009, 10:00 a.m.
Location: STAPLES Center, Los Angeles, California

The Michael Jackson Public Memorial Service takes place Tuesday, July 7, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. at STAPLES Center in downtown Los Angeles and simulcast inside to Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE across the street.

Fans are being asked not to go! The LAPD won't be able to handle the massive influx of people into the city center.

FLASH UPDATE: Michael Jackson's body will be taken to the Staples Center memorial in downtown Los Angeles!

LAPD officers have blocked off roads and warned those without tickets to stay away because they will not be able to get near the downtown venue.

Stevie Wonder, Mariah Carey, Usher, Lionel Richie, Kobe Bryant, Jennifer Hudson, John Mayer and Martin Luther King III are among the celebrity guests scheduled to attend Michael Jackson's memorial service on Tuesday at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Jackson will be buried WITHOUT HIS BRAIN at Forest Lawn cemetery in Hollywood Hills.

BE PART OF TELEVISION HISTORY!

Many networks are skipping their regular programming and airing the Michael Jackson Memorial Service instead.

The music stations MTV, BET, VH1, MTV.com, VH1.com, VH1 Classics and VH1 Soul are all providing coverage and airing the Memorial at 12:00 p.m. Eastern and 9:00 a.m. Pacific. MSNBC begins covering the Memorial Service at 8:00 a.m. Pacific, 11:00 a.m. Eastern. The anchor is Chris Jansing.

Both CNN and HLN are covering the Memorial service live. Anderson Cooper begins at 9:00 a.m. Pacific, 12:00 p.m. Eastern. CNN International and CNN en Espanol are also airing the service. CNN is streaming the service live on the Internet too.

CBS begins coverage with the Early Show, and ABC’s Good Morning America is also providing special coverage. Martin Bashir, who did the infamous interview with Michael Jackson, co-anchors the ABC coverage. There will be a special 20/20 hosted by both Barbara Walters and Diane Sawyer at 9:00 p.m.

NBC is doing a special, ‘split’ coverage on the Today show. Brian Williams begins covering the Staples Center at 10:00 a.m. while Meredith Vieria is running coverage during the Today Show.

Fox’s Great Van Sustern is live in Los Angeles and will have a special feature at 10:00 p.m of “On the Record.” Fox is also be streaming live on the web, beginning at 10:00 a.m. Pacific and 1:00 p.m. Eastern.

About 85 theaters across the country, from Los Angeles to Topeka, Kansas, to Washington, D.C., are broadcasting the memorial live, for free.

TV.com is hosting a live online stream of CBS News' coverage beginning at 9 a.m. PT/Noon ET/5 p.m. GMT. Their servers like those of many other sites providing live streaming of the event are likely to be overloaded.

Live online stream on this Yahoo! page:
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ynews/20090707/en_ynews/ynews_en429